PCT Day 46: Kennedy meadows south is nigh

  • Date: 2023-06-20
  • Pct day: 46
  • Start: Mile 669
  • End: Mile 694
  • Distance: 25 miles
  • Ascent: 5167 feet
  • Descent: 4471 feet
  • Start name: Spanish Needle Creek
  • End name: Manter Creek and Tentsites
  • Wake up: 05:15
  • Start hiking: 06:20
  • At camp: 19:20
  • In bed: 21:90
  • Where I slept: cowboy camp
  • Shower: no
  • Best thing: great conversation with a new hiker, the feeling that I’m pretty sure I’ll make it to Kennedy Meadows
  • Worst thing: right foot blister

Key moments

  • got up and out and moving - unfortunately embraced the quote from Clouds: “every shit on trail feels like an emergency shit”
  • Ok so maybe this is gross but this is standard hiking talk - when you’ve got to go you’ve got to go and sometimes the body feels a bit ahead of the mind and you just might not be ready, so like one of the Benegeserit from the Dune franchise I found myself chanting: “I must not fear, fear is the mind killer” while I focus on finding an appropriate toilet spot
  • Found a pretty good spot to get phone reception and was able to send off a few messages to Katie and catch up on messages, it’s been not a great patch of reception so far
  • Had lunch on a picnic table, which is always a novelty, with Dale and Mariah, and a new hiker I hadn’t met yet, Flora
  • Flora and I ended up hiking for a while, and had a really nice chat about the trail and it’s physical and mental parts. We were both very excited to get to Kennedy Meadows.
  • Kennedy Meadows marks the end of the desert, and is at about mile 702. It’s a big milestone for hikers as the next section is the Sierras in the mountains, which this year are all up in the air as there’s so much snow.
  • Anyway, it was a big mileage day today as we wanted to have a shorter day into Kennedy Meadows tomorrow - followed by at least two zero days (a zero is a rest day where you cover zero hiking distance)
  • Mariah and I haven’t really cowboy camped much in the desert - cowboy camping is very popular in the desert, it is where you don’t camp in a tent and sleep outside under the stars.
  • A hiker named Larry asked if I wanted any advice for cowboy camping for the first time - I said yes and he said “step one: check for ants, step two: check for mozzies”
  • We thought we were in the clear but it seems there are mosquitoes about. Oh well, can’t win them all I guess

Plan from here

  • hike to a Kennedy Meadows and hatch a plan and a crew to hike the Sierras

Animals sighted

  • rabbit
  • Grey squirrels

Gear thoughts

Physical condition

  • right foot blister is a bit tender - what I really want to know is how I can prevent this, I guess it has come from doing long days with large weight carries, but I just hope my feet can recover and I’ll be in good shape from here

Thoughts and Observations

  • the desert has truly been a gift. I can feel how I have changed through this hike - being more comfortable by myself, and in my own skin, and the friends I’ve made
  • It’s hard to believe I will be in Kennedy Meadows soon, I got emotional a couple of times thinking about it today, it’s going to be so great to see a bunch of friends at Kennedy Meadows - so many people hang out there for at least 2 days, it’s going to be great to see the friends ahead and behind me.

Some of the bad things

  • right foot blister
  • Missing Katie, missing family

Quotes of the day

  • the trail is the family

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt