PCT Day 42: into a bubble (Mile 583 - 603)

  • Date: 2023-06-16
  • Pct day: 42
  • Start: Mile 583
  • End: Mile 603
  • Distance: 20 miles
  • Ascent: 4012 feet
  • Descent: 2969 feet
  • Start name: Golden Oak Spring
  • End name: Robin Bird Spring
  • Wake up: 06:30
  • Start hiking: 08:00
  • At camp: 1830
  • In bed: 2100
  • Where I slept: tent
  • Shower: no
  • Bugs swallowed: 3

Key moments

  • had an alright sleep after a very windy night
  • Had a chat to a new Aussie hiker friend, Grace about their plans - it looked like it would be a 20 mile water carry. Oh dear.
  • I said goodbye to Nubs and went back to the water source to get more water for the day.
  • Saw Marcela, one of my favourite hikers on trail. She calls me “her rainbow” and is always a delight.
  • It was a pretty normal day of hiking - not a whole lot happened but I caught up to the group of 5 Aussie hikers - a few friends were visiting Grace and Michael, joining them for a week or so on trail, which is super cool
  • so nice to be amongst a group of aussies - I’ve missed being immersed in the accent
  • Made it to the 600 mile marker!
  • Got to camp to realise I’m now in a hiker bubble - about 15 people at this camp, where have all these people sprung out from? It was a bit of a culture shock to see all these people - while there was a somewhat clique vibe, everyone was nice and there were some good larrikins in there
  • but it did make me appreciate the quieter time I’ve had in the trail, it’s funny how suddenly bam, there’s all these people.

Plan from here

  • get some morning miles on tomorrow - get out on the trail by 6 and make it to a water cache at mile 14, and then make a decision from there to go a bit further

Animals sighted

Gear thoughts

Physical condition

  • pretty good - right foot blister is a bit annoying but otherwise good. Like, it’s kind of crazy, I did a 25 mile day yesterday and at the start of the hike that had me aching all over, not now. Just the blister on my right foot being annoying.
  • I was very tired during the day so I’m looking forward to a reasonable sleep tonight and hopefully a shorter day tomorrow

Thoughts and Observations

Some of the bad things

  • I inhaled like 3 flies, it was awful
  • The flies try and go for your eyes and mouth because it’s cool and moist or whatever but that’s like so rude of them
  • Man blisters just like don’t stop?
  • People snoring at a campsite is a pain, and crowded campsites are a pain

Quotes of the day

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt