PCT Day 39: into Tehachapi

  • Date: 2023-06-13
  • Pct day: 39
  • Start: Mile 541
  • End: Mile 558
  • Distance: 17 miles
  • Ascent: feet
  • Descent: feet
  • Start name:
  • End name: Tehachapi
  • Wake up:
  • Start hiking:
  • At camp:
  • In bed:
  • Where I slept: bed
  • Shower: yes

Key moments

  • oooft I’m coming back to this day nearly 50 days later and having a hard time remembering exact details
  • I left kind of early, still feeling sluggish after the accidental aqueduct adventure, and Nubs had already left well before me
  • Again super impressed at Nubs pulling through after feeling so terrible and being sick
  • I hiked for a bit with a nice dude named James, had a nice chat to him as we managed to scrounge a bit of water from a small pool upstream
  • stopped a hiker water cache, which was the most impressive one I’ve seen so far - deck chairs, a couple of tables, a shade umbrella, a pantry cupboard, a cooler (nothing there but reports were a day earlier there was fresh oranges and Soda), and fresh spring water that you don’t need to filter
  • In short, quite incredible, there is an access road just next to it and it must require a lot of work to keep going.
  • They had a donation jar, and I put money in there - thank you kind folks for putting such a wonderful spot together
  • I remember the road to the highway where you hitch into Tehachapi being a long one - a long slow descent over hills in the heat and so many wind turbines. It was a beautiful sight to see, the soft light from the clouds over the hills of the wind turbines
  • But also it felt like it just kept going on and on…my feet were sore and I just wanted to be in town where my friends the cowboys had kindly organised a hotel room and were chilling out at that moment in a hot tub with beers
  • I made it to the road and there was a really cool PCT log book in a metal box, which had post cards with nice quotes about hiking, like: “And I remember why I’m here…to lose my mind and find my soul” - a quote from Crumbs, a PCT hiker in 2018

Plan from here

  • take a zero in Tahachapi

Animals sighted

Gear thoughts

Physical condition

Thoughts and Observations

Some of the bad things

Quotes of the day

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt