PCT day 33: up and down and back again (mile 440 - 454)

  • Date: 2023-06-07
  • Pct day: 33
  • Start: Mile 440
  • End: Mile 454
  • Distance: 15 Miles
  • Ascent: 2365 feet
  • Descent: 2545 feet
  • Start name: Mattox Canyon Creek
  • End name: Serenity Oasis
  • Wake up: 06:15
  • Start hiking: 07:30
  • At camp: 20:30
  • In bed: 21:00
  • Where I slept: tent
  • Shower: no

Key moments

  • longer wake up in the morning
  • Talking to other hikers it seems like a resupply in Acton was the most reliable idea
  • After a brief pit stop in an RV park off trail, where I had a surprisingly chill time to myself, I got a ride into town with a lady from the RV park
  • I did my most expensive resupply yet in Acton, would highly recommend checking out all grocery store options before committing to one - I didn’t follow my normal rule of eating food before shopping. So we learn
  • I had a nice meal at the saloon in town and charged my devices and relaxed
  • I hitched back to the RV park with Jean Claude , my new French friend. We had a very wholesome lady pick us up, she said she used to give 20 hikers a ride a day a few years ago, she was really excited to pick up some hikers. Very wholesome.
  • Met up with some really cool hikers at the RV park, Clouds, Tiptoe, Whoops, and Double Check. Had a good discussion about skipping the Sierras. I’m going to try and hike with them, I liked their vibe.
  • I hiked the 10 miles to Agua Dulce from the RV park and man I forgot how hard it is to hike with a full resupply for food. No wonder Baden Powell felt hard, I did that the first day out of Wrightwood.
  • Everything felt slow and I could feel the weight on my feet
  • I did what I think is a normal hiker thing to do in this situation: mentally calculate all the ways to ditch weight from my bag. In reality the simplest answer is to carry less food.
  • the hike suddenly appeared over highway 14, an 8 lane highway. The hike goes under the highway through a tunnel and through some amazing rock formations where they have filmed a bunch of movies - Taquez rocks.
  • I eventually made it into town - Agua Dulce is one of a few towns where the PCT goes through the town itself.
  • I wandered into a Mexican restaurant and got an enormous meal that I managed to finish.
  • My friend Amelia got the largest salad I have ever seen.
  • Beth had saved me a spot at the hiker oasis, I pitched my tent there and it is already quite late. I’m tired.

Plan from here

  • probably take a zero or a Nero tomorrow and wait to catch up with Tiptoe and co

Animals sighted

Gear thoughts

  • need to get a cut up sponge to clean my cooking gear
  • Need to get another hiker to give my bag a shakedown

Physical condition

  • good - just the soles of my feet are sore

Thoughts and Observations

  • it’s better to carry less food and do more resupplying than to carry a huge load of food

Some of the bad things

  • look I thought I was getting stronger and then bam, I’ve got a heavy bag full of food and I’m feeling bad again.

Quotes of the day

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt