PCT Day 31: I am tired (mile 395 - 415)

  • Date: 2023-06-05
  • Pct day: 31
  • Start: Mile 395
  • End: Mile 415
  • Distance: 20 Miles
  • Ascent: 3000 feet
  • Descent: 3000 feet
  • Start name: Cooper Canyon Creek
  • End name: NA
  • Wake up: 06:00
  • Start hiking: 07:45
  • At camp: 17:55
  • In bed: 19:15
  • Where I slept: tent
  • Shower: no

Key moments

  • slept in until about 6 this morning
  • Had a slow lazy start to the day
  • Today was just hard, you know? Like sure, the PCT is a holiday and stuff, but man, today just felt like everything was a bit hard. I guess I felt fatigued
  • had some conversations about bears and Adam and Amelia shared a story of how they saw a bear pop the trunk of a car open in Yosemite Valley while people kind of yelled at it and it just ignores them and rifled through the boot
  • we came across a couple of nice spots with picnic tables again
  • Saw Trevor on trail - he took a couple of days off to see his family and his dog, sounded like he had a great time
  • Got into camp and it seemed like it would be the best spot in the area - alas super windy, I’m hoping my spot in the bushes works. I keep finding fine dust in the tent that is getting blown in. Maybe the wind will die down at night. Definitely time for some ear plugs

Plan from here

  • need to do about 20 miles tomorrow to get to Acton the following day. I will probably take a rest there overnight, I’m keen to check out the 49er saloon
  • over halfway to Kennedy Meadows!

Animals sighted

  • whip snake
  • Squirrels

Gear thoughts

  • wide sleeping mats are much better
  • Thin possum and wool gloves would be a good idea for sleeping gloves
  • Once I pitched my tent super tight it didn’t make nearly as much noise - it probably is my favourite piece of gear
  • Not sure I’m sold on my Mayfly sandals, my feet end up getting dirty. But they’re better than nothing
  • my flicker wide is nice, but I’m not sure if it would be better if I just had the regular flicker, you know?
  • I should cut up a sponge to take to clean my cold soak jar
  • I wonder if using polycryo will be better than tyvek

Physical condition

  • pretty good, my feet seem to be much preferring the new shoes, which could also be that they have laces rather than elastic quick laces
  • Left knee sometimes a bit of pain, but probably just a niggle

Thoughts and Observations

Some of the bad things

  • sometimes you just had bad days that seem really hard. Today wasn’t exactly anything special in terms of mileage or elevation gain/loss, but it just all seemed hard. I think it’s a fatigue thing.
  • One thing that really helped was my friend Dan sent me a playlist from he and Liz’s wedding. The Canapé playlist. Man hearing some music that wasn’t from my regular playlist really was a massive mood lifter and really made a difference
  • I got into camp because Amelia shouted out to me from some bushes, this was definitely a better camp than the one ahead, and she also gave me a couple of pieces of candy and a oat bar. She said something like “today was hard, here you go”. That meant so much to me.
  • The FarOut app keeps losing the maps - and so does the Gaia app

Quotes of the day

  • “at least it’s not windy” — me, moments before a large cloud rolled through and the wind picked up.

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt