PCT Day 36: big and small day (mile 480 - 498)

  • Date: 2023-06-10
  • Pct day: 36
  • Start: Mile 480
  • End: Mile 498
  • Distance: 16 miles
  • Ascent: feet
  • Descent: feet
  • Start name:
  • End name: sawmill Canpground
  • Wake up: 06:00
  • Start hiking: 08:00
  • At camp: 20:00
  • In bed: 21:30
  • Where I slept: tent
  • Shower: no

Key moments

  • a big day and a small day - I just felt really flat and wanted to sleep in
  • My body isn’t used to these big miles consistently yet so I really needed some extra time to sleep
  • but also I just needed time mentally - I felt like I Wanted to be hiking with a group this whole time, but this isn’t exactly a group holiday. I see idyllic movies and stories of people having a trail family the entire way through the PCT and so I expected the same
  • I have been hanging out with great people on the trail but I guess I’ve been wanting to have the same group who had the same plans the entire time
  • I guess this extends from the idea of “happiness is better when it is shared”
  • But I think that like my brother Luke says, when you expect things , you can set yourself up for disappointment
  • I was thinking I’d be able to keep up with these new guys for the whole ride and be
  • super foggy on the trail, which was quite atmospheric
  • saw Jeremy and Kristi and Hannes and Meike again, so I guess it wasn’t goodbye!
  • I had a good chat with Nubs on trail about the idea of how the trail is hard, and while there’s like a few days where it’s like “wow this is just amazing “ - it’s still hard work
  • there was a huge field of poodle dog bush that we had to navigate around - if you touch this plant your skin blisters up and it takes a few weeks to heal. No thanks.
  • poor nubs has been unwell, throwing up the other night, I’m impressed he stayed on trail and is still slowly doing the miles. Very strong dude.

Plan from here

Animals sighted

Gear thoughts

Physical condition

Thoughts and Observations

Some of the bad things

Quotes of the day

  • the trail is the family

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt