PCT Day 30: descent down from Baden Powell (mile 389 - 395)

  • Date: 2023-06-04
  • Pct day: 30
  • Start: Mile 380
  • End: Mile 395
  • Distance: 16 Miles
  • Ascent: 2538 feet
  • Descent: 5104 feet
  • Start name: NA
  • End name: Cooper Canyon Camp
  • Wake up: 06:00
  • Start hiking: 07:45
  • At camp: 18:00
  • In bed: 20:15
  • Where I slept: tent
  • Shower: no

Key moments

  • had a nice sleep in
  • Saw some friends from the last couple of days pass us about 7am: Red, Justin, and Chris
  • There was a lot of up and down today, I guess we were still tired from hiking up Baden Powell the day before but it really felt like everything was hard
  • I had a really nice moment in the morning which I have been calling my “PCT moments”, where I look at something beautiful and go, “wow, this is it, I’m hiking the PCT!”
  • saw Jeremy and Kristi when we came down the back of Baden Powell - they had done the road walk option where you avoid Baden Powell and walk the highway 2 around it.
  • our party today was mostly Adam and Amelia and Jeremy and Kristi, it felt nice to reunite
  • Had a nice lunch at Eagles Roost - this section so far from Wrightwood has involved a lot of nice picnic areas, with drop toilets and picnic tables. Luxury!
  • It was a pretty cool day really, lots of nice views, and also another road walk to avoid some special frog habitat
  • Had a chat to Katie in a spot with good reception, I was missing her as we talked earlier about popcorn and I remembered Katie’s really nice popcorn she makes.
  • Ended up in a nice place called the Buckhart Track
  • Had a really fun stream crossing
  • Ended up at Cooper Canyon Creek campsite, which also has two streams running through it and toilets

Plan from here

  • I’ve got to get 20 miles in tomorrow as I’m running a bit behind schedule

Animals sighted -crows, lizards, squirrels, chipmunks

Gear thoughts

  • I’m really liking my bag - it hurt a bit when I was doing the road walk (just in the middle of my back)
  • Loving my wide sleeping mat and pillow
  • Unsure of the state of my flicker sleeping bag - not sure if I’ve just be better with a proper quilt
  • Mayfly sandals are fun but now my feet get dirty - I think I prefer to wear them for 10 minutes once I get to camp but would prefer to wear my shoes just loosened up a lot

Physical condition

  • good, I think? Just tired, need to focus more on sleep!

Thoughts and Observations

Some of the bad things

  • today just felt like really hard. I found myself going through calculations in my head of how I could save 2-500g if I did some adjustments or changed gear around or over. It is kind of fun but it’s a bit stressful at times
  • missing your partner is hard - while it isn’t that long until I’m back, it is also at the same time a long time!

Quotes of the day

  • I just wanted to work out which face this rock should be facing down on. It’s going to be here for a while so I want it to be comfortable — Jeremy.

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt