PCT Day 26: Magic and blisters and the McDonald’s challenge

  • Date: 2023-05-31
  • Pct day: 26
  • Start: Mile 329
  • End: Mile 347
  • Distance: 18 Miles
  • Ascent: 3730 feet
  • Descent: 3546 feet
  • Start name: picnic area below trail
  • End name: Swarthout Canyon
  • Wake up: 05:15
  • Start hiking: 06:15
  • At camp: 18:00
  • In bed: 20:20
  • Where I slept: tent
  • Shower: yes

Key moments

  • woke up early - there was some reasonably hectic snoring while we were cowboy camping. One of my earplugs fell out and rolled somewhere into the darkness while I was asleep and I was left vulnerable to a sonic snoring assault.

  • Somehow I found that hilarious rather than depressing and managed to have a pretty good sleep I think

  • At least the person snoring slept well? That’s good for them

  • We all packed up and got moving by 6 or so

  • I saw Juley - my Korean friend, he started the day with a lollipop after breakfast, and we took some photos together, I took the first photo of him on trail that wasn’t a selfie of himself. After a little while he zoomed off as unstoppable as the wind.

  • the light in the morning was glorious - lots of cloud cover and sunbeams shining through onto Silverwood lake, as we climbed higher to a ridge line walk, the wind buffeting us, and my right foot letting me know that there definitely was a blister there. Owie

  • Owie, man blisters suck

  • Chopper had arranged with a local trail angel (to remain anonymous) to pick us up and give us a shower and laundry and take us to in n out. I finally would get another in n out burger

  • This meant I would forgo the walk on trail to the McDonalds on trail in exchange for any favourite burger and a shower and laundry

  • Pretty easy trade

  • Our Trail angel gave us loaner clothes and we changed into them and put on a load of washing

  • While our washing was on we each took turns having a shower and then our angel fed us some leftover pizza and gave us cold sodas, and helped us clean our water filters, and replaced some gear for us - snaps was the same size shoe as them and the angel was injured so just gave Snaps a nearly brand new pair of Altra Lone Peaks, and wouldn’t take any money. Amazingly kind.

  • our Angel drove us to the in n out.

  • I got a 3x3 animal style with fries well done and also animal style. That’s a triple cheeseburger with special sauce basically and loaded fries. And a vanilla shake. And a Dr Pepper.

  • I felt very very full

  • Our angel drove us back to their place, we repacked our bags and they took us back to the trail.

  • Well, to the McDonald’s

  • I tried to work out the best resupply strategy before settling on a potentially horrifying order of about $44 of McDonald’s. this place isn’t cheap anymore

  • Why would I do this? It’s called the McDonald’s resupply challenge. You each only food from McDonald’s from Cajon Pass to Wrightwood, about 30 miles.

  • I ordered the following:

    • 13 cookies
    • 2 quarter pounders
    • 2 fries
    • 20 McNuggets
    • 2 McDoubles
    • An apple pie
    • A strawberry cream pie
    • An apple frotter
    • A cinnamon roll
    • A blueberry muffin
  • That’s going to be all I eat, alongside a bunch of ketchup and Mexican style salsa (from McDonald’s) until I get to Wrightwood.

  • Ugh. I’m not sure why I’m really doing it except to say that I did it.

  • we met up with some other hikers at the McDonald’s, Diamond Dave, Lucky Marcela, and Jodi and Jonathan. As well as two other hikers we hadn’t met before - Switchback and Android

  • lucky Marcela is a bit older and reminds me of an auntie, if I had an Eastern European auntie. She calls me “her rainbow”, as I’m wearing a lot of colours.

  • She gave me a hug the other day when we saw each other at camp after a few days of narrowly avoiding seeing each other. In trail time that’s like just missing out on seeing friends over the course of a few months

  • Anyway the point is that Marcela gave me a hug and it reminded me of a hug from Mum and that felt pretty special

  • It’s the people on trail, man.

  • So we set off from McDonald’s back on trail for about 6 miles, walking under an underpass and a tunnel and a train track. Actually two tunnels.

  • I was hiking with Chopper and Snaps, and having a great time

  • As a train got closer to us, Snaps made the “honk the horn” motion and the train replied. Man does that ever not feel good

  • The trains here were enormous, carrying shipping containers 53 feet long (an unusual size), stacked two high, with 5 engines at the front, and 3 in the middle. These trains wound through a section of the pass that was flattened and carved out through mountains. And also right next to the trail. Quite the sight!

  • I got to chat to my partner while explaining the wonder of this train to her, it’s hard to explain but I just got really excited by the train

  • Chopper and Snaps give the people they meet trail names that they refer to them as privately, apparently mine was “friend”, because I was their friend straightaway. A potential trail name, they quite like it on me.

  • I’ll see how it goes!

  • We got into camp and here they have a water cache that is topped up by locals very regularly, at Swarthout Canyon. We are lucky to have it - without it, it would be a 22 mile water carry. Now it’s about 16 miles. Thank you, fine folks.

  • it ended up being just me and Chopper and Snaps at this campsite, our friends must have hiked on a bit further

  • We had a really nice chat over dinner together, while I ate 20 McNuggets and some fries and a couple of cookies for dinner.

  • we talked about all the other hikers we’ve met and traded stories. Hopefully we can cowboy camp another time soon - it was cloudy tonight and the threat of rain seemed real.

Plan from here

  • an apple pie and a strawberry and cream pie for breakfast . Ugh.
  • About a 17 mile water carry to just outside Wrightwood

Animals sighted

  • lizards

Gear thoughts

  • I really should contact therm a rest or REI to see if they can help me patch my current mat or get a store credit - it lasted about 10 days on trail before getting a hole. I guess you really do need to be careful
  • my sleeping bag is great - it is the “feathered friends flicker long wide 20F”, so it’s super comfy, and one day I will find the right sleeping bag for me that’s super light while also being warm and roomy. Or I just take it and know that 800g is still plenty light
  • my shoes have big old holes in them, I’m looking forward to new ones, that have about 450 miles on them

Physical condition

  • ankles feel a bit stiff, which is new for me
  • Right blister on the hall of my foot - potentially reappearing with a mild vengeance

Thoughts and Observations

Some of the bad things

  • getting blisters bloody sucks. They zap your energy and you want to pop them but you need to be careful they don’t get infected
  • I think I’ve found a great group of folks to hike with but my blister might put me off trail for a day back in Wrightwood, in order for it to heal up properly. But it’s encouraging to meet so many cool people.
  • While you’ve got time to think during the day as you hike, doing this hike is work. It’s fun, a lot of the time, but it is also something that takes up a lot of time, and I hurt in some random places, like my ankles, me knees, my feet, my hips. My abs. My neck. my left wrist?
  • Not all at once, it’s like they are all collectively on a schedule of being niggles for an hour or so each
  • My tent smells like McDonald’s, not in a good way.

Quotes of the day

  • I don’t think my feet should be allowed out in public. They are disgusting. — Chopper

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt