PCT Day 24: Bear encounter and Hot Springs (Mile 285 - 307)

  • Date: 2023-05-29
  • Pct day: 24
  • Start: Mile 285
  • End: Mile 307
  • Distance: 22 Miles
  • Ascent: 1669 feet
  • Descent: 4619 feet
  • Start name: Little Bear Springs
  • End name: Hot Springs
  • Wake up: 04:30
  • Start hiking: 05:45
  • At camp: 17:15
  • In bed: 21:00
  • Where I slept: bed
  • Shower: no? Hot spring

Key moments

  • early morning because of high (for me) mileage day
  • It was cold! Hard to get moving when it’s cold!
  • Plenty of water and some water crossings
  • Met some South bound (sobo) hikers, and I decided that I’m not sold on my trail name, electro. Back to Nick for the time being
  • Met a nice lady who was hiking in the area and had a bag of chocolate, and was handing them to PCT hikers - she said there weren’t as many PCT hikers now
  • I got thinking that maybe I’m outside the bubble of PCT hikers, this has its trade offs - fewer people, but fewer people, you know? As an extrovert I like people around.
  • had a nice rest under a bridge that had a small waterfall going under it. Saw Beth there, she was there for a while before me, she left after a bit and I was hanging out by myself for a bit - this is an important detail for later
  • Reasonably easy hiking from here, I was keen to get a bit of a move on because I wanted to get to this fabled hot springs early
  • I heard from a friend I made at Scout and Frodos, Max. He has bad blisters and needs to take a few days off in a town to heal up - hoping that maybe we can hike for a bit around Wrightwood maybe
  • the trail followed a creek called Deep Creek for the day, it was mostly downhill, and was nice walking, although my left shin and knee kept hurting randomly
  • Eventually made it to the hot springs! A haven for hikers and people from LA - there are natural geothermal springs here that people have turned into pools with the help of concrete and sandbags
  • Also a lot of naked people. I opted for clothes.
  • I had a nice dip in the cold section of the river, then moved into the various different pools to try the different temperatures
  • It’s hard to put into words how weird and wonderful it is to soak in a hot spring after a big day hiking
  • A helicopter kept circling shoe where we were hanging out, and a dude was leaning out the door of the helicopter looking down at us. Looking for someone? Practicing?
  • I was worried someone had hit their SOS button - turns out there was a kid earlier who had an allergic reaction to a bee sting.
  • The short version is that the kid thankfully reacted super well to Benadryl, and so his family was able to take him home - which is a two mile walk back to a car park and then a 2 hour drive to LA
  • However an SOS call had been activated from a hiker, as the bee sting initially looked really dangerous and the parents were keen to hit the SOS button
  • The hiker canceled their SOS once it became apparent the kid would be fine
  • However, they missed an extra text to respond to that was basically like “you sure you want to cancel” - and so because they didn’t see this, because they thought the had canceled it and subsequently turned off their Inreach, the helicopter still came
  • And that’s how Chopper got her trail name
  • After I had a nice swim in various hot springs I had dinner with Chopper and her friend Snaps, it was a nice evening
  • Saw Lucky Marcela and a few other hikers later in the afternoon, I think the vibe tomorrow is to have a bit of a sleep in and maybe a soak in the morning in the hot spring before heading out.
  • I also saw Mariah and she said “hey did you see the bear!?” And I was like, no, where? And she said “like 15 feet from where you were hanging out under the bridge - it was just up from you frolicking in the water. You were really close to it”.
  • Oh god, somehow I missed seeing a bear very close to me, and also somehow it was all fine. I’m fairly sure I would have shat a brick if I’d turned and saw it. But hey maybe the bear just felt really comfortable in my presence?

Plan from here

  • hike about 19 miles to nearby a picnic site

Animals sighted

  • bear?
  • 3 California racer snakes
  • Squirrels
  • Chipmunks
  • Lizards
  • Dogs

Gear thoughts

  • keen to go cowboy camping soon

Physical condition

  • left knee and shin sometimes hurt while hiking

Thoughts and Observations

  • maybe the Sierras will need to be flipped, where I skip them and do them later, this season

Some of the bad things

  • my left knee and shin were really uncomfortable today, rest is really important in hiking
  • I’ve seen and heard of a lot of hikers having their solid “trail family “ by now, but I still haven’t had that happen yet - it makes me want to make sure happens, but it’s hard.

Quotes of the day

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt