PCT Day 20: the downhill of it all (mile 240-259)

  • Date: 2023-05-25
  • Pct day: 20
  • Start: Mile 240
  • End: Mile 259
  • Distance: 19 Miles
  • Ascent: 2785 ft
  • Descent: 2523 ft
  • Start name: Mission Camp Spring
  • End name: Tentsite (3)
  • Wake up: 04:45
  • Start hiking: 06:20
  • At camp: 16:30
  • In bed: ?

Key moments

  • bit of a slow morning, I need to focus on getting a bit of an earlier bed time
  • I did however take a good moment when waking up, there were birds singing, I was amongst pine trees, i am finally here, hiking the PCT. Sometimes I get caught up in the work of it all, I forget about how long I’ve been dreaming and planning on doing this, and I know that this time is going to fly by.
  • Also it was cold and it’s hard to get out of bed when it’s cold and you’re really comfortable and warm
  • had a caffeine electrolyte drink that another hiker, “snickers” gave me - that definitely gave me a boost
  • It was definitely cool and I kept my fleece on for a few hours, i was up high - about 8000ft (about 2400m) and walking past small snow drifts
  • Mostly a downhill day, thankfully! But the day stretched out a little bit longer that’s I thought it would - downhill doesn’t always mean easy
  • Found a water cache with a lawn chair, definitely a novelty to sit down on a chair on the trail.
  • Got into camp with two other friends, Nathan and Arthur, we enjoyed the sunset together - getting in at 430pm means you can have a nice relaxing afternoon, I need to do that more often

Plan from here

  • have a nice relaxing morning , no need for an alarm , and head down to Big Bear

Animals sighted

  • blue jays
  • Lizards
  • No snakes

Gear thoughts

  • I cracked the shits with my bag, I found it too painful on my shoulders with a heavier load of food and decided to buy the Durston Kakwa 40, picking it up in Wrightwood, about mile 370
  • Also ordered a pair of mayfly sandals - basically some cord tied to corflute, just to have a nice camp shoe moment but they aren’t anything substantial, and weight about 40 grams.
  • Try out dance pants for wind pants?
  • Get a really nice pillow
  • Get nicer reusable earplugs?

Physical condition

  • good enough! My left knee hurts occasionally but I think taking it easy tomorrow and a rest in Big Bear Lake will be good for me

Thoughts and Observations

  • getting in at 430pm is awesome
  • We have nearly 100 miles of downhill from here

Some of the bad things

  • we did about 20 miles today and it just felt like a lot of work - when does this get easy?
  • I can feel the toll on my body. Another key to doing this hike is having good sleep. I might change out some sleep things, potentially.

Quotes of the day

  • sunset is always better 10 minutes after the sun sets

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt