PCT Day 13: out of the town vortex into a hailstorm (mile 152 - 163)

  • Date: 18th May 2023
  • Pct day: 13
  • Start: Mile 152
  • End: Mile 163
  • Distance: 11 Miles
  • Start name: Highway 74 trailhead
  • End name: Cedar Spring
  • Wake up: 08:00
  • Start hiking: 13:30
  • At camp: 19:15
  • In bed: 20:30

Key moments

  • woke up at a reasonable hour and realised I still had a few more town errands to run - namely sorting through my bounce box (effectively a little resupply box that I mail to myself that also contains odds and ends of medical resupply and bits of gear I thought I might want or need), mailing some things to my friend in the USA to hang onto for a little while, and also mailing some extra food ahead to myself on the trail.
  • my friends in the house we were staying in were going to be leaving a bit earlier in the day, Beth and I wanted to get a later start to the day to let some of the heat pass
  • Heading into town you bump into other hikers - a couple of people were a bit spooked after a hiker hurt themselves night hiking - lost a couple of teeth and had a concussion after falling. Although I heard a few variants of this story so I’m not sure on the details exactly. But it caused some people to skip a section. Everyone said that the hiker was in good spirits and was doing fine so that is good news!
  • I think these kinds of things can happen - especially night hiking through a section that has been toted as one of the tougher sections earlier on in the trail with lots of fallen trees and our first patches of snow, but it did make me think that in this first alpine section it would be safest to make sure we are hiking in a group within a short distance of another.
  • After a bit of packing, sorting, a breakfast burrito, a coffee, and some admin at the post office, we were just about ready to head out on trail
  • Bumped into Alex from Wisconsin at the post office, he said this section was the toughest so far- lots of elevation and steepness, but also it is the most scenic and beautiful. I say bring it it on, I love steep hiking and beauty!
  • we managed to get out of town hitching with three different ladies to different points along the highway, they were all really lovely and all of them knew about the PCT, either having done some sections or having friends or family done it, and they wanted to help. It’s got to be said that while this hike is scenic, I think that the people along the way are easily the most beautiful thing, there is so much kindness along the way, and these people are all so interesting.
  • Beth and I hiked out and I had great signal so I gave my partner a video wake up call while walking along at the start.
  • Clouds started getting darker in the distance and thunder was rumbling - might be in for a storm!
  • It started to rain up ahead and then we got caught in a small storm - first rain then heavier rain then some hail, then some more lightning that got progressively closer - we made it to a grove of pine trees and sheltered under some lower scrub and waited out the storm. I popped open my umbrella and fished out some cold pizza I had from town. That’s a sentence I didn’t think I’d write down but here we are. The pizza was delicious, for those wondering.
  • Beth works as a hiking guide and so I felt safe in her hands in a mountain storm,
  • once the lightning had died down and we hadn’t heard it for about 15-20 minutes and the rain slowed down we kept hiking, but not before we grabbed a bit of water from a stream that formed form the rain, makes me understand how a flash flood can appear in the desert. It was delicious fresh rain water.
  • we met a nice couple from Seattle, and we hiked with them for the rest of the day
  • It was nice to hike in a little group, that hasn’t happened as much on this hike as people have been moving at different places, so that was really nice.
  • We headed down to Ceder Spring, where there were about 8 other tents all with signs of people asleep in them already at about 7pm.
  • We had a chat to our friend Mariah who was staying with us in Idyllwild, discusssing a plan for the next day
  • I realised I had set up my tent on an ants nest. I focussed on exuding peaceful waves of friendly ant energy and we appear to have a truce.
  • You can see the lights of palm spring in the distance from the campsite, it’s pretty cool.

Plan from here

  • hike about 14 miles through to mile 175 or so, so we can have an early morning the next day down into Idyllwild again

Animals sighted

  • beetles
  • Tiny horny toads
  • Crows
  • Green lizard

Gear thoughts

  • I’m getting my Tanager returned to Feathered Friends, they have been really helpful. Unfortunately my sleeping bag just hasn’t been quite right for me - I think if I could get it a bit longer it would be perfect, but they don’t make them like that unfortunately.

Physical condition

  • good! Blisters feel comfortable

Thoughts and Observations

  • my tent site is at quite an angle. I am sleeping with my feet propped up on my backpack to try and be a bit more level
  • I wrapped my buff around my pillow and stuffed my down jacket between my pillow and the buff, it is now much larger and I think that’ll be awesome
  • Carrying an ice axe and micro spikes adds a bit of extra weight to the bag
  • So far my bag seems to be performing well - I think it’s important to try and pack any extra water I’m carrying a bit lower in the bag otherwise it gets too uncomfortable
  • It’s worth taking a bit of extra time to make sure your ice axe is properly attached to your bag. Mine pinged off and swung down into my leg when I walked under a tree. I was fine but I could see how that could be an unfortunate injury
  • Rain can really bring down a mood - all my gear was dry but I’m intrigued how some of the rainy days on the PCT will go

Quotes of the day

  • “at 75 years old, I tell you that you can still feel the same heartbreak, lust, and deep love you can feel at 25 years old. It’s even more intense, perhaps, you’re not so worried about things later in life” — an anonymous, kind and beautiful lady who gave us a ride

#pct #pct2023 #pctclassof2023

Nicholas Tierney @njt