PCT Day 7: The Long and Winding Road (mile 77 - 101)

Date: 12th May 2023 Pct day: 6 Start: Mile 77 End: Mile 101 Distance: 24.2 Miles Start name: Scissors Crossing End name: Barrel Springs - Mile 101 Wake up: 07:30 Start hiking: 09:45 At camp: 9:30pm In bed: 10:30pm

Key moments

  • Have a two course breakfast at the hotel I stayed at (one course cold one course hot)
  • some Hiking friends are taking 0 days at Julian - I’ll see them down the track, but it’s sad to see them go. But it’s part of the trail, people drift back and forth and you see them later
  • Got a ride with a trail Angel to the start of the trail - starting late at 930 wasn’t ideal as it was very hot! But so many beautiful flowers and cactuses on this side of the highway.
  • like the flowers and cactuses etc literally looked like some kind of botanical exhibit. Stunning. Also really really hot.
  • Loads of contouring - where you stay at a similar elevation but go around a mountainside.
  • Had to take lots of breaks in the shade to escape the sun. There was a lot of leapfrogging past other hikers and then they’d pass you as you took a break
  • Was on a mission today to get to mile 101 to make it easier to get to Warner Springs post office before it shuts at 1pm on Saturday.
  • Saw my friend Graham on the trail at the water cache - he’d apparently spent some time trying to help a hiker who was not enjoying the heat and was having a bit of a day - I hope that hiker has a better day soon and we get to see them later.
  • did I mention it was hot? It was hot. It was a 14 mile water carry to the next water point.
  • Hiking in the late afternoon is great
  • Pushed on into the evening - a much better time to hike! Bumped into another hiker who was keen to hike into the night with me to get to mile 101
  • Passed mile 100! Milestone!
  • I feel so grateful and lucky to make it on this trip.
  • Also my legs are sore
  • Also I totally have blisters because I did a bigger day than I had planned
  • Did I mention my legs are sore? So is my back.

Plan from here

  • see the eagle rock formation tomorrow, very exciting
  • Have a town day at Warner Springs
  • Hike a couple miles on

Animals sighted

  • 2 snakes
  • Crows
  • Lizards

Gear thoughts

  • would be keen to try out a closed cell foam mat instead of my inflatable one

Physical condition

  • sore feet
  • Left foot small blister on heel
  • Right foot blister under ball of foot
  • Sore legs, sore quads, sore calves
  • Sore legs and feet

Thoughts and Observations

  • thru hiking means that you’ll be drifting past other hikers back and forth all the time, no point in stressing in trying to stay with a certain group

Quotes of the day -That’s why we are here it’s walking intermingled with mild discomfort, consistent niggily aches and pains , and intermittent joys and pleasure — Graham

Nicholas Tierney @njt