PCT day 6: Mission to Julian (mile 63 - 77)

Date: 2023-05-11 Pct day: 6 Start: Mile 63.7 End: Mile 77.3 Distance: 16.68 Miles Start name: mile 63.7 End name: Julian Wake up: 05:15 Start hiking: 06:30 At camp: 13:00 In bed: 21:48

Key moments

  • nice early morning
  • bit slow packing up
  • so many beautiful desert flowers
  • Took a couple of wrong turns into dirt roads
  • Trail angle, “Professor” gave us a ride into town
  • Julian the town is very quaint and nice, but expensive
  • PCT hikers get free pie, ice cream and a drink at a place called “Mom’s”. The staff were so kind.
  • Having dinner with hiking friends is fun

Plan from here

  • make it to Warner Springs by Saturday 1pm so I can pick up some food I sent there

Animals sighted

  • so many skinks and lizards
  • Crows, Californian Condors!

Gear thoughts

  • my sleeping bag is great up until my shoulder - the top of it doesn’t seem to have as much down, but a down jacket solves this issue

Physical condition

  • good! Got a mark from a tick on my left calf the other day, and a small blister on my left foot I am keeping an eye on

Thoughts and Observations

  • I need to stretch more
  • Town days are fun, but expensive
  • a single 20,000mAh batter would be better than two 10k ones, for charging purposes
  • An 18 inch pizza is too much pizza for one person
  • It’s fun to see other hikers about in town, like “hey, I don’t know you but we are on the same quest. Isn’t that fun?”
  • The movie “TRON legacy” is honestly one of my favourite movies

Quotes of the day

  • Who is the hamburgler, did he steal a pig? — Graham

Nicholas Tierney @njt