PCT Day 3

Started off the day slowly - I had a bit of a headache from the day before and just wanted to keep sleeping. But I carried on and was out by about 550. Was a nice slog up the mountain, I met two sisters going SOBO from Northern California (skipping the Sierras), Emily and Caitlin, I believe. They were very friendly.

I went past a few more people’s tents set up along the way - no sign of Richard, he must have powered on to Lake Morena. Lake Morena had a large mist over it - looked quite cold!

Made it down to Lake Morena and wasn’t sure how to get to the malt shop for a breakfast burrito. A friendly hiker told me it was down the street - turns out he is an army medic.

I saw Grahams bag outside the shop and I had my first glimpse into trail town logistics - you put your bag down outside before heading inside, and you make sure to tip 20%. A nice lady made a breakfast burrito and we had stock standard drip coffee. A great success! I did my first resupply in a store; taco rice and Idaho four cheese instant potatoes. I really appreciate the food science that went into these things.

We powered on after this to the Lake Morena campsite and onto a water crossing at mile 24. I decided to wait out the heat of the day under the bridge and got chatting to several people and they came and went. I had a bit of heat stroke from the day before - minor, just had a bit of a headache, so I made sure to cool off and keep my electrolytes and water up. Gotta stay on top of that!

I missed getting my plastic PCT permit - a nice chunk of plastic that you zip tie to your bag, it has the cool PCT emblem - I missed it because we started later in the day and the people who hand them out had left by then . Fortunately, my friend Alex gave me one as a little present - he was just going to throw it out. Because every gram counts! But I’ll take that.

I also got to try on some other people’s backpacks - an interesting experience! The ULA packs definitely distribute the weight really nicely!

After a nice 3 hour break at the bridge, I powered on to the next campsite, at Boulder Oaks, before deciding to go the extra 6 miles to the next campsite. On the way over I met up with Frank, who also stayed at Scout and Frodos. He has a few blisters and is just doing 10 mile days. But he told me he has a trail name now - rockstar! Rockstar told me to check out this waterfall and I wasn’t too sure but decided to give it a go, and I am so glad I did! It was really nice swimming and really lifted the morale for the day.

I was feeling a bit anxious about trying to catch up with people - I’ve met some really cool people on the trail, and I didn’t want to lose touch with them. So far on the trail you tend to start and end the day together and then walk separately, sometimes linking up, but for the most part it is can be a solitary experience if you want it to be. I think I’ll need to get used to taking it easy by myself, and trying to to worry about catching up with people/losing people.

I made it into the campsite that said it would hold 5 tents to see at least 12 tents set up! Heaps of room.

Managed to meet another hiker who said he has the same camera as me, Woohoo! Fuji X100V buddies! I loaned him my Allen key so he could open his camera battery door, which is blocked by a peak designs clip we use to attach it to our backpacks.

I felt like I was on top of the world. Having a long day, but satisfying, meeting new people, swimming in a waterfall and finding friends who share hobbies.

Tomorrow the plan is to have a short day (sometimes called a “nero “ - a day near zero miles) to My Laguna, to hang out there, since it seems the campsites past there are closed due for preservation.

Nicholas Tierney @njt