PCT Day 2

Left the bog campsite at 5am to find that Rob (r-o-b Rob) had popped his sleeping mat and was cold, but was going to recoup and relax while he waited for his Amazon packages to arrive. I’m not sure how he was collecting them. I had a bit of a chat to him about gear - he was asking which brands of sleeping mat are good - it seemed like he didn’t have much experience. I wish him well and I hope he is safe. Not sure we will see him again.

I was a bit cold last night and woke up with frost on my tent, which explains why I got so cold. We all left at different times and Harry had to jet off to Lake Morena as he left his ID and a few things at Scout and Frodos - they were sending it with the shuttle company.

Graham and I carried on and I really enjoyed that we all started hiking at different times and kind of saw each other here and there throughout the day - but we didn’t need to leave together etc. hike your own hike! It’s great.

I had a nice 2 hour break at the campsite at mile 11, then carried on in the heat of the day to see what that was like: spoiler, not super fun, but the umbrella made it manageable.

Got to Hauser creek and found Graham there - my plan was to wait until the afternoon to power through to a high camp but Graham convinced me to hang out here and chill out. It was great. We washed our clothes, soaked our feet, and set up out tents. I got lucky and my site was fine but Grahams tent site smelt like urine and he moved again and got attacked by fire ants so he moved again but to a larger fire ants nest.

He had a hilarious way about him and I’m having a good time laughing with him.

Then loads of other people arrived and two of them seem like my kind of people - Taylor and Miguel. Very switched on young kids who stayed at Frodo and Sam’s last night. The other folks I didn’t really get to chat to.

Keen to hike through to Lake Morena tomorrow and get some food, and to stay out of the sun as long as I can.

Would be really good to catch up to Max if I can.

Also saw a dude with a carbon fibre guitar - I was like “nice uke”, and he said , in such a California way, “naw dude, 4 strings don’t cut it for me” . I wonder what his plane is for the rain. His name is Ben. I reckon his trail name will be Bard.

Nicholas Tierney @njt